09 Jun 2022

This content is tagged as Pacific arts .


2022 Arts Pasifika Awards nominations open
The winners from the 2020 Arts Pasifika Awards.

Do you know a Pasifika creative that deserves to be celebrated for their contribution to our arts community over the past year? Our annual Arts Pasifika Awards are back - and we're calling for nominations!

The Creative New Zealand Arts Pasifika Awards celebrate and recognise excellence in Pacific Arts across a wide range of arts practices and career stages. Any New Zealander can nominate an artist, or themselves, for an award. 

The awards have been offered annually for the past 26 years, since 1996, and are the only national awards for Pasifika artists across all artforms. 

This year, there are seven award categories open for public nominations:

Senior Pacific Artist Award ($25,000): recognises commitment to their practice and ‘mana’ within the community.

Pacific Toa Award ($10,000): recognises the contribution of a Pasifika artist with the lived experience of disability to Pacific arts nationally or globally.

Pacific Heritage Artist Award ($10,000): recognises a major contribution by a Pasifika artist to maintaining, reviving or promoting a Pacific heritage artform in New Zealand.

Pacific Contemporary Artist Award ($10,000): recognises a Pasifika artist who has demonstrated artistic innovation in their arts practice.

Special Recognition Award ($10,000): recognises a special contribution to Pacific arts, nationally or internationally.

Emerging Pacific Artist Award ($7,500): recognises a Pasifika emerging artist showing promise and potential.

Iosefa Enari Memorial Award ($7,500): supports the career development of a Pasifika singer, musician or composer across all classical genres and career stages.

For more details on how to nominate, including a step-by-step video, visit our Arts Pasifika Awards nomination page.

Check out the list of all past winners here.