08 Apr 2022

This content is tagged as Ngā toi Māori .


Nga Taonga Toi a Te Waka Toi 2021   pivot to online event

He toi whakairo, he mana tangata. E te tī, e te tā nau mai ki ngā Taonga Toi a te Waka Toi.

The 2021 Te Waka Toi Awards recipients will be announced via a free public online event on Saturday 9th April 2022 7pm-8pm NZST.

Due to Covid-19 impacts, the awards announcements will be made online via the Creative New Zealand Facebook pages and will be available on our YouTube channel afterwards. You’ll be able to save an event reminder for the awards later this week. The online event will include videos of the award recipients.

The awards recognise a range of career stages, artforms and contributions. They include emerging artists, arts leaders, an artist with lived experience of disability, contribution to traditional performing arts (sponsored by Te Matatini), contribution to strengthening te reo Māori (sponsored by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori), and the supreme award, Te Tohu Aroha mō Te Arikinui Dame Te Atairangikaahu, with a prize of $25,000.

We're excited to be able to finally bring you the delayed 2021 event, and celebrate and recognise the artistic excellence, achievement and contribution of 14 talented ringatoi Māori.

We invite all arts lovers, especially supporters of ngā toi Māori, to join us for 35th Te Waka Toi Awards on the 9th. Stay tuned and see you there!

The Te Waka Toi Awards are made possible with support from partners Te Papa Tongarewa, Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori and Te Matatini Society Incorporated.

Event details

Date: Saturday 9th April 2022
Time: 7pm-8pm NZST
How to access: Creative New Zealand Facebook and YouTube channel

About the awards

Ngā Taonga Toi ā Te Waka Toi celebrate the lives and successes of Ngā Toi Māori practitioners and advocates, and serve as a springboard for emerging artists.

Established in 1986, the awards are the only national Māori arts awards that celebrate all artforms, recognising leadership, outstanding contribution, excellence and potential in Ngā Toi Māori. 2021 marked the 35th anniversary of the awards.

Hundreds of leading Māori artists and practitioners have been recognised through these prestigious national annual awards that acknowledge excellence and achievement across all artforms including marae arts (traditional, marae-based artforms such as karanga,  carving, and weaving) as well as contemporary artforms such as theatre, literature, film, photography, sculpture and visual arts.

See past award recipients