08 Mar 2020

This content is tagged as Multi-Artform .


Creative New Zealand welcomes new Arts Council members

New Arts Council members welcomed in Wellington

On 27 February we officially welcomed all five of our new Arts Council members in a pōhiri at our Pōneke (Wellington office). Riria Hotere-Barnes, Janine Morell-Gunn and John Ong were appointed in December 2019, and Robyn Hunt and Kura Moeahu were appointed in February.

The Ministry for Culture and Heritage's announcement of our latest two members, Robyn Hunt and Kura Moeahu, is below.

Ministry for Culture and Heritage media release: 25 February 2020

Creative New Zealand has two new board members

Two new appointees, Robyn Hunt and Kura Moeahu, have joined the Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa (the board of Creative New Zealand), Manatū Taonga Ministry of Culture and Heritage advised today.  

Wellingtonian Robyn Hunt brings a strong disability issues perspective to Creative New Zealand and was awarded the 2019 Arts Access Accolade. From 2002 to 2010, she was a governing Human Rights Commissioner with responsibility for disability issues.

Involved in the arts and cultural sector for many years, Robyn Hunt was a panellist at the 2019 Arts Activated Conference in Sydney and is a co-founder of Crip the Lit, a project-based initiative to celebrate Deaf and disabled writers.

Kura Moeahu (Te Ātiawa) has been actively involved in iwi governance as both a chair and board member, including as Chair of Te Rūnanganuio Te Ātiawa, the Waiwhetu Marae Trust, the Harbour Island Kaitiaki Board, and Waiwhetu Pa Reserve Trust.

As a member of the Weltec Māori Advisory Board, he was instrumental in establishing Te Auaha, the NZ Institute of Creativity and is widely recognised for his knowledge of te ao Māori, tikanga Māori and Māori arts.

Currently Parliament’s Tumu Whakarae, Kura Moeahu replaces Aucklander Andrew Caisley, who during his five years on the board bought valuable legal and arts governance experience to the role. 

Both appointments are until 31 January 2023. The Arts Council now has five Māori members, together with one disability advocate. 

The purpose of Creative New Zealand is to encourage, promote and support the arts in New Zealand for the benefit of all New Zealanders. The Arts Council comprises 13 members including the chair and members are appointed for three-year terms with eligibility for reappointment.

See the photos and biographies of all the Arts Council members