01 Sep 2016

This content is tagged as Literature .


Four compelling NZ writing projects awarded grants CLNZ NZSA Research Grant recipients 2016

Copyright Licensing New Zealand (CLNZ) and the New Zealand Society of Authors (NZSA) are pleased to announce that Research Grants have been awarded to four fascinating New Zealand writing projects that, according to the judges, have great potential and stood out even amongst many other promising applications.

The Stout Research Grant, which includes $5,000 and a six week residential fellowship at the Stout Research Centre at Victoria University of Wellington, was awarded to Aaron Fox. Three Open Research Grants of $5,000 each were awarded to Susy Pointon, Jared Davidson and Grace Millar.

Historian Aaron Fox was awarded the Stout Research Centre Grant for his current work “A Biography of Brigadier James Hargest”, which offers an engaging account of the controversial mid-20th century military and political leader. Aaron, who hails from Gore, is an established researcher and writer, with many of his pieces published in journals and online media.

The three open Research Grants were awarded to Susy Pointon, Jared Davidson and Grace Millar. Susy Pointon’s project is “Utopia Hokianga: Searching for the Baron de Thierry”. Susy, who lives in Kaikohe, has a rich background in film and writing and has written over fifty short stories set in the Hokianga. Jared Davidson’s project is “A War of Words: Censorship & the New Zealand Home Front 1914-1920”. Jared, who lives in Lower Hutt, has authored two books on similar topics. Grace Millar’s project is “Five Months Without Wages: Families and the 1951 Waterfront Dispute”. Grace, who lives in Wellington, is the author of several published pieces within various journals, blogs and bulletins.

CLNZ and the NZSA are delighted to assist New Zealand authors with research efforts towards their writing projects. Research Grants are funded through the CLNZ Cultural Fund, which derives its revenue from a 2% share of domestic licensing income and from overseas revenue that is non-title specific. The 2016 judging panellists were Paddy Richardson, Susanna Lyle and David Veart.

content_logo      content_logo_2

For more information please contact:
CLNZ, phone
64 9 486 6250, email news@copyright.co.nz;
or NZ Society of Authors, email office@nzauthors.org.nz