12 Nov 2009

This content is tagged as Literature .


Creative New Zealand and New Zealand Book Council international travel programme for writers

Since 2005 Creative New Zealand and the New Zealand Book Council have run an international travel programme for New Zealand writers. This scheme has provided travel assistance for writers to attend high-profile international literary events and promote New Zealand literature.

Within the context of Creative New Zealand's international strategy the 2009/2010 programme has been restructured. The new programme adopts a more targeted approach to the international promotion of New Zealand writing by developing long term relationships with a specific range of international festivals.

The fund is called the New Zealand Book Council/Creative New Zealand
International Festival Travel Fund
. Applications are open both to writers who are New Zealand citizens or have permanent residency status, and to Festivals (from the approved list found on the Book Council website) who are in the process of inviting a New Zealand author. Applications for literary festivals or activities outside this list should be made directly to Creative New Zealand under the Contestable Funding process. New Zealand citizens need not be living in New Zealand when they apply.


To apply or to find more information, visit:



Application dates

Applications can be made at any time but will be considered four times a year. Once agreed, successful applicants will be notified within five working days of the selection panel meeting. Applicants are advised that funding will not be applied retrospectively and that they should apply at least three months ahead of their proposed activity.
Applications will be accepted from either:

  • Writers who have been invited to one of the target festivals or publishers/agents acting on their behalf
  • Target festivals who are in the process of inviting a New Zealand author

The selection panel dates for 2009/2010 are:
December 14th 2009
March 12th 2010
June 4th 2010

Past recipients of the award include:
Apirana Taylor
Lloyd Jones
Bill Manhire
David Hill
Michael Harlow
Catherine Chidgey
Robert Sullivan
Greg O’Brien
Ian Wedde
Tusiata Avia