21 Aug 2019

This content is tagged as Literature .


New Zealands national writer residency organisation announces its 2020 Writers in Residence Programme

The Michael King Writers Centre is pleased to announce that next year’s programme of residencies at the historic Signalman’s House on Takarunga Mt Victoria in Devonport, Auckland, is now open for applications.

Media release from Michael King Writers Centre

Writers awarded a residency can look forward to peaceful accommodation, the use of a writing studio, a generous stipend and the opportunity to focus on a specific writing project.

The 2020 programme offers 19 residencies to emerging and established writers for periods of two to five weeks each. Highlights include: four residencies specifically for Māori or Pasifika writers and a prestigious partnership with the University of Auckland - offering extended opportunities to established writers.

Applications open Monday 19 August and close Monday 16 September. For the application form and more details see: https://writerscentre.org.nz/residency-programme-applications/

Why do we offer these residences?

  • The residency programme aims to support New Zealand writers and promote the development of high-quality New Zealand writing. Projects can be in a wide range of genres including non-fiction, fiction, children and young adult, drama and poetry.
  • The residencies are offered with the assistance of Creative New Zealand.

Who can apply?

  • Writers from all over New Zealand, including those who live in Auckland, are welcome to apply.
  • The four residencies offered in partnership with the University of Auckland are for established authors with a substantial publishing record.
  • The other residencies are open to emerging, mid-career or established writers.

What is the Michael King Writers Centre?

  • Founded in 2005, the Centre was established to realise Michael King’s dream of having a residential retreat for New Zealand writers so that they would have time and money to work on a major project over an extended period.
  • Seventy-five New Zealand writers have held residencies at the centre since 2005. These include Ian Wedde (who went on to become the Poet Laureate for New Zealand 2011-2013), and Man Booker prize winner Eleanor Catton, who wrote the final draft of her novel The Luminaries at the Centre. Other previous residents Vincent O’Sullivan, David Eggleton and Anne Kennedy, were longlisted for the 2019 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards; and Joanne Drayton was the winner of the Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction.

Media interviews

For interviews please contact Michael King Writers Centre Chair, Melanie Laville-Moore, email: MelanieL@allenandunwin.com or ph. 021 593 555

More more information on the residencies

For further information about applying for residencies, please call Tania Stewart:

Ph/fax: 445 8451
Mobile: 021 106 3837
Email:  administrator@writerscentre.org.nz