29 Jan 2014

This content is tagged as Multi-Artform .


Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa Bill passes

The House last night passed the Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa Bill, which will streamline the governance of Creative New Zealand and improve its effectiveness.

The bill addresses the previous overly complex structure of Creative New Zealand, consisting of four governing boards with 28 members, and replaces it with a single governance body with 13 members.

“By getting rid of red-tape this bill frees up the Arts Council and its staff to put their full focus and resources into the arts and artists,” Arts, Culture and Heritage Minister Christopher Finlayson said.

The single Arts Council will be responsible for policy, strategy and funding allocation, replacing the previous division of responsibilities between the Arts Council, the Arts Board, Te Waka Toi and the Pacific Arts Committee. 

The new Council will have a minimum of four members with knowledge of Maori Arts, tea o Maori (a Maori world view) and tikanga Maori (Maori protocol and culture). These members will be appointed by the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage in consultation with the Minister of Maori Affairs.

At least two members will be appointed with knowledge of the arts, and the traditions or cultures, of the Pacific Island peoples of New Zealand, in consultation with the Minister of Pacific Island Affairs.

“This bill ensures that issues involving Maori and Pacific arts are represented at the top table for decision-making, which under the current cumbersome structure is not necessarily the case,” Mr Finlayson said.


For more information please contact:

Ben Thomas

P: (04) 817-9763

Mob: 0274-943-579