30 Jul 2012

This content is tagged as Literature .


Two great opportunities for authors

The NZSA is calling for applications for two of the literary community’s most popular grants – The Janet Frame Memorial Award and The Beatson Fellowship.

Janet Frame Memorial Award


The former biannual award is for $3,000 andis offered by the NZSA from a bequest generously provided by The Janet Frame Literary Trust to support a mid-career or established author to further their literary career.  It isopen to authors of poetry, literary or imaginative fiction and who are members of the New Zealand Society of Authors. In 2010 the award went to Wellington poet and novelist Tim Jones.

Deadline: 31 October 2012

The Beatson Fellowship

The Beatson Fellowship is an annual Fellowship generously donated by Peter and Dianne Beatson and provides the successful applicant with $7,000 and the choice of a one month residency in their holiday house at Foxton Beach.

Last year’s recipient Catherine Chidgey  had this to say:

“The Beatson Fellowship allowed me the freedom to focus on my novel without the usual worry and distraction of making ends meet, and the validation of my work-in-progress gave me a great boost of confidence. I am tremendously grateful to the Beatsons for their generosity and support."

The award is open to writers of fiction, poetry and drama who are members of the New Zealand Society of Authors.

Deadline: 30 September

For an application form and terms & conditions please download from our website www.authors.org.nz  or email office@nzauthors.org.nz

For further information:  Please contact programmes@nzauthors.org.nz