11 May 2016

This content is tagged as Literature .


2016 Prime Ministers Awards for Literary Achievement call for nominations

Don’t miss your opportunity to nominate your pick of our finest writers for the 2016 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement.

Every year New Zealanders are invited to nominate writers who have made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the categories of non-fiction, poetry or fiction. $60,000 is awarded in each genre.

New Zealand writers are also able to nominate themselves for the awards.

The nominations are assessed by an expert literary panel and recommendations forwarded to the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand for approval, with the awards presented in a formal ceremony.  

In 2015, Roger Hall was awarded for Fiction; Bernadette Hall for Poetry and Dame Joan Metge for Non-Fiction.  See the full list of winners here

To nominate a writer

Nominations close on Friday, 20 May at 5pm.

For media enquiries, please contact: 
Sarah Pomeroy, Senior Communications Adviser
DDI 04 498 0725
M 027 677 8070