11 Nov 2012

This content is tagged as Literature .


New Zealanders embrace Prime Ministers Awards

Creative New Zealand has received a record number of nominations for the 2012 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement.

Every year, New Zealanders are invited to nominate their choice of a writer who has made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the genres of non-fiction, poetry and fiction. New Zealand writers are also able to nominate themselves for these awards.

This year, there were 67 nominations for 24 writers in the fiction category; 43 nominations for 26 writers in the non-fiction category; and 65 nominations for 20 poets in the poetry category.

This is more than double the number of nominations received in 2011.

“New Zealanders’ strong engagement with literature is well-documented,’’ says Creative New Zealand’s Chief Executive, Stephen Wainwright. “The calibre of our writers in the areas of fiction, non-fiction and poetry is extremely high and they continue to push the boundaries in terms of the quality and scope of their work.”

The nominations are assessed by an expert literary panel and recommendations forwarded to Creative New Zealand for approval.  The winner of each category receives $60,000.  In 2011, Dame Fiona Kidman gained the award for fiction; Peter Bland for poetry and James Belich for non-fiction.

The 2012 award recipients will be announced in a ceremony at Premier House on Monday, 26 November.

The Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement were established in 2003. A full list of recipients is here: /en/results-of-our-work/award-winners/prime-minister-s-awards-for-literary-achievement

Award-winning writers: free lunchtime event at Te Papa

Three of the country’s most esteemed writers: Two of the recipients of 2012 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement and the recipient of the Michael King Fellowship, Peter Simpson, will discuss and read from their work at the Marae, Level 4, Te Papa, on Tuesday 27th November,12.15-1.15pm. Chaired by Radio New Zealand’s Kathryn Ryan.
Entry is free. Please note that no food may be taken onto the Te Papa Marae.

For further information, please contact:
Rebecca Lancashire | Senior Communications Adviser
Creative New Zealand | Old Public Trust Building, 131-135 Lambton Quay
PO Box 3806 | Wellington 6140
T +64 4 473 0880 | DDI +64 498 0725| M +64 (0) 27 677 8070 | F +64 4 471 2865