16 Oct 2012

This content is tagged as Literature .


2013 Commonwealth Book and Short story prizes opening soon


Open for entry 24 October 2012.

Our prizes target and identify talented writers from the different regions of the Commonwealth. The Commonwealth Book Prize is awarded for the best first book, and the Commonwealth Short Story Prize for the best piece of unpublished short fiction.

For each prize we select five regional winners and from these regional winners chose one overall winner.

The prizes are open to Commonwealth citizens aged 18 and over.

The entries must be in English. Works translated into English from other languages are also eligible provided the translator is also a citizen of a Commonwealth country.

The 2013 prizes will open for entry on 24 October 2012 via the online entry form.

2013 Commonwealth Book Prize

Awarded for best first book, this prize is open to writers who have had their first novel (full length work of fiction) published between 1 January and 31 December 2012. Regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £10,000.

Publishers must enter the book on behalf of the author except in the case of self-published authors who may make their own submission.

Closing date: Tuesday 18 December 2012 (12 noon GMT)

2013 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2000 – 5000 words). Regional winners receive £1,000 and the overall winner receives £5,000.

Submissions must be made by the author of the short story.

Closing date: Tuesday 4 December 2012 (12 noon GMT)

Visit www.commonwealthwriters.org/prizes/ for further information and the online entry form.