08 Sep 2010

This content is tagged as Music .


APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2010 The Winners

The APRA Silver Scroll Award, New Zealands most prestigious song writing award has been presented for the 45th time tonight at a star studded event at Aucklands Town Hall.

The winner of the Silver Scroll Award for 2010 is:

Alisa Xayalith, Thom Powers & Aaron Short - The Naked & Famous Young Blood.

"Young Blood is outstanding; its stroppy, its youthful and energetic. It makes me want to be eighteen again" says APRAs Anthony Healey "It seems like the perfectly written song for this very point in time. It should take the world by storm" he says.

APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) is the organisation that represents all New Zealand music writers. The Silver Scroll Award is the pre-eminent peer voted prize for any music writer making music today. Previous winners have included writers as diverse as James Milne and Luke Buda, Neil Finn, Dave Dobbyn, Scribe and Chris Knox.

APRA is also proud to announce the following Awards presented at the Auckland Town Hall tonight:

APRA Maioha Award - celebrating contemporary Maori music:
Jamie Greenslade aka maitreya Sin City (feat. Awa)

SOUNZ Contemporary Award - recognising creative excellence by a contemporary composer:
Chris Cree Brown Inner Bellow

"Tonight we celebrate music-writers of all genres, toiling away in studios and bedrooms throughout the country. They are slaves to their craft. Tonights winners have given us music to treasure and we applaud them" says APRAs Anthony Healey.

Inducted in the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame were:
The Fourmyula - Wayne Mason, Carl Evenson, Martin Hope, Alistair Richardson & Chris Parry

Most Performed Work in New Zealand (most played on radio and television in New Zealand):
Cruel by Dane Rumble, Te Awanui Reeder & Samuel King

Most Performed Work Overseas (most played on radio and television overseas):
Dont Dream its Over by Neil Finn

2010 APRA Silver Scroll Awards - Auckland Town Hall - Wednesday 8 September