09 May 2012

This content is tagged as Music .


New Zealand songwriters scoop US Awards

New Zealand songwriters have scooped the prizes at the US International Songwriting Competition (ISC), the world's foremost global songwriting event, this week.

The ISC's Grand Prize for 2011 was awarded to New Zealand artist Kimbra for her song Cameo Lover, entered in the Pop/Top 40 category.

Kimbra is the third New Zealander to win the overall Grand Prize, which ties New Zealand with America for the most ISC Grand Prize award-winning artists: Moana Maniapoto was the recipient in 2003 and Gin Wigmore in 2004. The Grand Prize winner takes home $US25,000 and an additional $25,000 in merchandise and services.

Out of more than 16,000 international entries, New Zealand artists Annah Mac, Ruby Frost, and Massad were awarded first, second, and third place in their respective categories. Many other New Zealand artists also received honorable mentions in the competition.

Called “the songwriting competition to take note of,” by the New York Times, ISC was established in 2002 and awards more than $150,000 in cash and prizes to amateur and professional songwriters around the globe. Winners were selected from over 16,000 songs submitted from 112 countries worldwide.

Judges included Tom Waits, Jeff Beck, McCoy Tyner, Kelly Clarkson, Janelle Monae, Ozzy Osbourne, Lucinda Williams and Tori Amos. The roster of judges also included five record label presidents as well as other industry leaders.

Founder and Director of ISC, Candace Avery, says of Kimbra: “As an artist, she brings her songs to life with her unique vocal styling and compelling stage presence. We are proud to have her as our 2011 Grand Prize winner.”

Many other New Zealand songwriters won their respective categories in ISC 2011. They include: First Place Winner, Adult Album Alternative (AAA), Anna Heiberg MacDonald (Annah Mac); Second Place Winner, World Music, Opetaia Foa'i (Te Vaka); Third Place Winner, Pop/Top 40, Jane de Jong (Ruby Frost).

Honorable mentions went to Free Amy McFarlane, Brent McFarlane (Reckless Mack); The Singing Bush, Eddie Rayner (RBR) and Forget About Me, Massad Barakat-Devine (Massad).

For a complete list of all 2011 ISC winners and to hear the winning songs, go to http://www.songwritingcompetition.com/winners