16 Apr 2012

This content is tagged as Craft and Object art .


The Clark Collection Creative New Zealand Scholarship Winner Announced


Arts, Culture and Heritage Minister Christopher Finlayson has named Greg Donson as The Clark Collection/Creative New Zealand Scholar for 2012. Mr Finlayson said he was delighted to announce the 2012 Scholar as the Scholarship is a partnership which enhances New Zealand's body of expertise in the decorative arts and built heritage.

“The Clark Collection/Creative NZ Scholarship is the generous gift of Mr Errol Clark, a New Zealand financier, art connoisseur and heritage advocate,” said Mr Finlayson.

“Mr Clark’s support of The Clark Collection/Creative NZ Scholarship provides an opportunity for New Zealand professionals in the built heritage and decorative arts field to expand their knowledge through attending the prestigious Attingham Trust Summer School in England. The Scholarship also offers the recipients a number of short internships with organisations such as English Heritage, The National Trust, the Victoria & Albert Museum and The Royal Collection.”

“Creative New Zealand is providing significant support for the Scholarship as part of its grant programme towards professional development for arts practitioners. The Scholarship is facilitated and administered by Museums Aotearoa. This collaborative partnership makes such a comprehensive study programme possible.”

Greg Donson is Curator and Public Programmes Manager at the Sarjeant Gallery in Wanganui, where he is responsible for the development, implementation and management of the Gallery's exhibition programme. With a collection of over 5500 items spanning four centuries of European and New Zealand art, Greg is enthusiastic about bringing new insight back to his role at the Sarjeant Gallery as a result of the scholarship.

The Sarjeant Gallery opened in 1919. It has a Category 1 Historic Places Trust rating and is one of New Zealand's oldest purpose-built galleries, renowned for its neo-classical interiors and its nationally significant collection.

“With the support of Mr Clark, Creative New Zealand and Museums Aotearoa, this Scholarship is advancing the body of expertise on the decorative arts and built heritage in New Zealand,” said Mr Finlayson. “Now in its ninth year, previous Scholars are building on their Attingham experience, and making significant contributions in their fields.”

Recent recipients are Justine Olsen (2010), Decorative Arts Curator at Te Papa, Josephine Hughes (2009), Design Team Leader at Hawke's Bay Museum and Art Gallery, Priscilla Pitts (2008), General Manager Heritage Destinations at NZ Historic Places Trust, Claire Regnault (2007), then Concept Development Manager at The Dowse and now History Curator at Te Papa, and Robyn Notman (2006), Public Programmes Manager at Dunedin Public Art Gallery. In 2011 textile historian Annabel Westman, former Director of Studies at the Attingham Summer School, visited New Zealand at the invitation of Museums Aotearoa. Ms Westman shared her expertise through conference presentations and several very well-attended public lectures.