19 Jan 2023

This content is tagged as Literature .


Prime Ministers Award recipients 2022
Photo credits: Stephanie Johnson (image credit: Maeve Woodhouse), Vincent O’Malley (image credit: Hagen Hopkins Photography) and James Norcliffe (image supplied).

Join us online to celebrate the Winners of the 2022 Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement! 

Creative New Zealand, in partnership with Auckland Live and The Big Idea, invites New Zealanders from across the motu to come together for a live, online panel discussion with the recipients of the 2022 Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement.

When: Friday 10 February, 6.30pm-7.45pm
Streaming live on our Youtube Channel and Facebook Page 


  • Fiction winner: Stephanie Johnson – a celebrated and popular author of twelve novels, as well as poetry, short stories, and writing for stage and television
  • Nonfiction winner: Vincent O’Malley – a distinguished author and historian of the New Zealand Wars and Te Tiriti o Waitangi
  • Poetry winner: James Norcliffe – an acclaimed poet and writer for children and young adults, as well as a prolific editor and poetry champion

Read more about our recipients 

All three writers will read and discuss their work with award winning writer and broadcaster, Nick Bollinger.

During the live stream, viewers can submit questions to the writers in the comment threads on Facebook and YouTube.

Join us live for a brilliant evening of wit, whimsy and fascinating facts!

Read more information on the Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary achievement

Auckland Live, The Big Idea and Unity Books logo