17 Sep 2015

This content is tagged as Music .


Winner of 2015 SOUNZ Contemporary Award announced

Chris Watson Wins the 2015 SOUNZ Contemporary Award

SOUNZ Centre for New Zealand Music and APRA AMCOS are delighted to announce that composer Chris Watson has won the 2015 SOUNZ Contemporary Award with sing songs self, a single movement piano concerto.

This is the first time a work by Wellington composer Chris Watson has been nominated for the award. Chris has a PhD in composition from Victoria University of Wellington and he was the University of Otago’s Mozart Fellow in 2008 and 2009. His works have been premiered both in NZ and internationally, including performances by the NZSO, Tokyo Philharmonic and Stroma. In addition to composing, Chris works as Resound Project Manager, filming and editing performances of NZ music. Chris lives in Wellington with his partner and their two young boys, one of whose bedtime routines inspired the winning composition.

SOUNZ Executive Director Diana Marsh said, "Chris’s work is immersive and exciting. ‘sing songs self’ demonstrates the high quality of composition from New Zealand composers and I would like to personally congratulate Chris on his significant achievement. SOUNZ continues to be very impressed with the consistently high standard of work entered for the SOUNZ Contemporary Award."

The SOUNZ Contemporary Award celebrates excellence in contemporary composition and is presented for the 18th time this year. The winner, selected by an independent jury from anonymous submissions, was announced at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards event at Vector Arena in Auckland on 17 September. The winner received an award, consisting of a trophy and cash prize.

APRA AMCOS also announced the winners of APRA Silver Scroll Award, celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, the Maioha Award and the awards for the Best Original Music in a Feature Film and in a Series, and revealed the latest inductee to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame.

The SOUNZ Contemporary Award, presented in partnership with APRA, has been awarded since 1998, recognising New Zealand compositions that demonstrate outstanding levels of creativity and inspiration.