16 Oct 2020

This content is tagged as Literature .


Update on Prime Ministers Awards for Literary Achievement 2020

Creative New Zealand will announce this year’s recipients of the Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement in early November.

Each year, the Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement, organised by Creative New Zealand, celebrate writers from Aotearoa who have made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the genres of fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

Typically, an awards ceremony with the Prime Minister is held in person around October; however, due to the timing of the election period, and the ongoing complexities of COVID-19, an in-person event is not possible in 2020. A postponement date (likely early 2021) is being considered for presenting the awards in person.

Creative New Zealand is acutely aware of the importance of acknowledging the winners, so in lieu of the awards ceremony, the organisation will hold a special online panel discussion with the recipients before the end of the year (which will replace the usual Unity Books lunchtime in-store event). The online panel will be an opportunity to kōrero with the recipients and allow New Zealanders from across the motu to tune in and participate.

The 2020 winners, along with details of the online panel, will be announced in early November.


Media queries:

Heather Byrne

Senior Communications Adviser | Kaiārahi Matua Whakawhitiwhiti Kōrero
Creative New Zealand

M: +64 27 292 1589 | E: heather.byrne@creativenz.govt.nz