16 Nov 2011

This content is tagged as Theatre .


2011 Chapman Tripp Award nominees announced

Wellington’s hard-working theatre critics have narrowed down the year's best and brightest theatre shows, performances, writers, composers, designers and directors from over 100 eligible professional productions to three nominees in each of the 18 award categories.

The Mayors Award for Excellence and the Critic’s Wild Card Award will be announced on the night of the awards – Sunday 4th December, at the Opera House.

We welcome the Wellington theatre community; the greater NZ theatre whanau and all it’s avid supporters to attend the Chapman Tripp Theatre Award 2011.

Congratulations to the nominees, and all eligible 2011 productions for making this an exhilarating and exciting year of theatre!

The Chapman Tripp Theatre Award 2011 Critics are: Laurie Atkinson (Dominion Post), Uther Dean (The Salient and Lumiere), Lynn Freeman (Capital Times), Elspeth Sandys (The Listener), John Smythe (theatreview.co.nz)

 – the Arbitrators are Michael Wray and Sharon Wray

Below are the categories, to read the nominees please follow this link.

Brancott Estate Award for Most Origional Production of the Year

Downstage Theatre Award for the Most Promising Male Newcomer of the Year

Circa Award Donated by TACT for the Most Promising Female Newcomer of the Year

Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School & Victoria University of Wellington Award for Most Promising Director of the Year

The Absolutely Positively Award for Costume Designer of the Year

Grouse Lighting Award for Lighting Designer of the Year

Weta Workshop Award for Set Designer of the Year

Park Road Post Production Sound Designer of the Year

Constance Scott Kirkcaldie Award for Outstanding Composer of Music

Peter Harcourt Award for Outstanding New Playwright of the Year

Sponsored by Bats Theatre & Taki Rua Productions

The Playmarket / Capital E National Theatre for Children – Outstanding New New Zealand Play of the Year

The Orbit Corporate Travel Award for Supporting Actress of the Year

Chapman Tripp Award for Supporting Actor of the Year

(Seven Nominees for these four categories:)
Emerging Artist Trust Wellington Accolade for Outstanding Performance
eCaster Accolade for Outstanding Performance
Chapman Tripp Theatre Award for Actress of the Year
The ProActors and Gail Cowan Management Award for Actor of the Year

The Museum Hotel Award for Director of the Year

Chapman Tripp Award for Production of the Year

The Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards 2011