10 Aug 2016

This content is tagged as Literature .


Applications open for $3000 NZSA Janet Frame Memorial Award 2016

Calling all authors of poetry, literary and imaginative fiction

The New Zealand Society of Authors Janet Frame Memorial award has run biennially since 2008, thanks to a gift from the Janet Frame Literary Trust, to support a mid-career or established writer. This prestigious award is open to authors of poetry, literary or imaginative fiction. 
In 2014 the award went to poet Elizabeth Smither who commented “It has been a great personal pleasure to have held this award. I don’t think of it being finite or confined to merely one year: I am sure the benefits will last through my whole career as a writer”. 

This is the final award in a series of five.
Deadline for applications: 5pm 28 October 2016
For more information

To apply for the award you need to be a member of the NZ Society of Authors (PEN NZ Inc). Membership is open to all developing and established writers. NZSA provides: literary sector news, a mentorship programme, manuscript assessment, manuscript services, contract advice, advocacy and representation for writers, information on the publishing industry, grants and other opportunities, along with affiliation to international PEN.
For more information go to authors.org.nz
For Media and general enquiries contact: Claire Hill, Operations Manager office@nzauthors.org.nz  Ph: 09 379 4801