19 May 2011

This content is tagged as Visual arts .


McCahon House Artists Residency – Call for Applications  – May 2011

The McCahon House Trust is calling for applications from professional artists for the
McCahon House Artists’ Residency Programme 2012-2013.

Three residencies, each of three months duration, are available between March 2012 and
February 2013.

Residencies are available to outstanding emergent or mid career professional artists. Artists
receiving the residency live and work in the purpose built Pete Bossley designed French Bay
house with attached studio.

The McCahon House residency programme began in late 2006 with inaugural artist Judy Millar. To
date, 16 artists residencies have been awarded to an outstanding selection of artists including:

  • Andrew McLeod
  • James Robinson
  • Gavin Hipkins
  • Rohan Wealleans
  • Richard Lewer
  • Luise Fong; Eve Armstrong
  • Lisa Reihana; Ava Seymour
  • Andy Leleisi’uao
  • Jim Speers
  • Liyen Chong
  • Glen Hayward
  • Ben Cauchi.

Comments from resident artists:

“My time spent working at French Bay House has been of enormous benefit to my practice. It
will be seen as a pivotal period in the development of my oeuvre.” Judy Miller 2007 (inaugural
resident and participant in 2009 and 2011 Venice Biennalle)

“Working in this wonderful environment, and with the terrific support of the McCahon House
Trust I have the opportunity to focus and develop my work enormously. It is a great
opportunity and I am very lucky to be here.” Martin Basher 2010 (selected for New York Public Art Fund sculpture exhibition 2011)

Next to the Residency house and studio is the restored house where Colin McCahon and his family
lived in the 1950s. The house is open to the public on Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday from 10am to 2pm and for group bookings at other times.

The McCahon French Bay House Restoration and Residency project is the initiative of the McCahon
House Trust. The Trust has received significant support from the Waitakere City Council, who gifted
McCahon’s old cottage to the Trust, Sky City Community Trust, ASB Community Trust and Portage
Licensing Trust. The residency programme is supported by Creative New Zealand.

Applications are now available to download at www.mccahonhouse.org.nz/residency - Applications close Monday 8 August 2011. Successful artists will be notified early October 2011.

Further information is available on www.mccahonhouse.org.nz