07 Nov 2014

This content is tagged as Literature .


NZSA Peter and Dianne Beatson Fellowship – Recipient Announced

The New Zealand Society of Authors is delighted to announce that the winner of the Peter & Dianne Beatson Fellowship 2014 is award-winning Dunedin author and poet Emma Neale.

Emma Neale is a novelist and poet. Her novels, all published by Random House, are Night Swimming, Little Moon, Double Take, Relative Strangers, and Fosterling. She is also the author of four collections of poetry, the most recent of which is The Truth Garden (Otago University Press, 2012).

She was the Burns Fellow at the University of Otago for 2012 and a past recipient of the Todd/Creative New Zealand New Writers Bursary, the NZSA/Janet Frame Memorial Award for Literature, and the Kathleen Grattan Award for Poetry.

Emma will be using her fellowship to work on a new novel with the working title: The Billy Book/Feather-head. The judges commented that Emma Neale’s project The Billy Book/Featherhead was ‘inventive, joyful and beautifully written’.

With grateful thanks to Peter Beatson this award occurs annually and provides the successful applicant with $7,000. In 2013 the fellowship was awarded to Diane Brown who used the time to work on a long poem 12 Days of Looking at a River and a long poetic narrative Taking My Mother to the Opera, which is in the final stages of editing.

We would also like to congratulate those applicants who were shortlisted and highly commended. Shortlist: Tina Shaw, Tim Upperton, Sue Wootton, Christine Leunens, Maxine Alterio and Coral Atkinson.

For further information visit our website authors.org.nz or contact office@nzauthors.org.nz